Latest Stories

SIGTUR Declaration & Resolutions

9th Congress Declaration & Resolutions Sao Paulo Brazil 2010

SIGTUR Declaration & Resolutions

9th Congress, Sao Paulo, Brazil 18-23 April 2010

Global economic justice for workers in the global South

Countries across four continents in the Global South, representing democratic unions from the following countries – Brazil, Argentina, Paraguay, Bolivia, Colombia, South Africa, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Nigeria, Guinea, Kenya, Democratic Republic Of Congo, Tunisia, Zambia, Angola, Eritrea, India, Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, East Timor, Philippines, South Korea and Australia gathered in Sao Paulo, Brazil on the 19-23 April 2010.  In the Global South workers in many places are under attack as we meet today. We recognize their predicament and extend our solidarity.

One hundred and ten delegates debated and engaged the deepening global economic crisis manifested in failure of financial systems, the capitalist restructuring of the global economy and work and the catastrophic ecological crisis.  Delegates considered the impacts of these crises on the global working class, particularly from developing and poor countries.